Reading Technics Update

Thanks to everyone who’s expressed interest in the Bernard Stiegler reading group – there’s about twenty five of us so far! From the responses I’ve received, it looks like Tuesday evenings will be best so I’m pencilling in the first session on the 16th July, with one session every week until mid-September. Time and location will be dependent on room-booking at King’s so I will update again once I’ve confirmed this.

THE BOOK

I bought my copy of the book today. The only place in London I’ve found that physically has it in stock is Foyles on Charing Cross Road, where it is apparently ‘core stock’, so they will always keep a couple of copies on the shelves. They also do 10% student discounts, and a further 5% off if you get it online – at £28 retail price, it’s still not cheap though!

Unfortunately it looks like the best offers are, as always, on Amazon, with used copies available from £12. Do be wary with some of these third party sellers though, as many don’t actually source their books until they receive orders so you could be stuck waiting for weeks before it arrives.

In any case, if you don’t fancy shelling out, I’ll be circulating PDFs of the relevant sections in advance of every week’s session. Nothing quite like holding something solid in your hands though…!

GOLDSMITHS EVENT

I’ve been alerted to the fact that Stiegler is taking part in a public forum on neoliberalism with some other heavyweight names at Goldsmiths tomorrow. Unfortunately I can’t make it but I’d recommend checking it out if you fancy whetting your appetite in advance. http://www.gold.ac.uk/calendar/?id=6555

Finally, do keep an eye on this site as I’ll update it periodically and perhaps we can use the comments function for some sort of pre-/post-session discussion. Also, if you come across anything that should be in the resources section then let me know.

Leave a comment